Advice Request Why to pay for an anti-virus while you have free real-time protaction anti-virus?

Please provide comments and solutions that are helpful to the author of this topic.

Amnesia

Level 1
Thread author
Aug 23, 2021
I'm not saying it like- "HAHA SUCKES KEEP WASTING MONEY ON TRASH" but really asking why am I paying for TotalAV instead of downloading something like AdAware? Adaware Antivirus it says that the free version has Real-time protection...

I don't really have the knowledge in that subject so I'll just ask if there are more reliable AVs other than AdAware that provides real-time protection?
And is really using a free option like AdAware better than the billed-in Windows defender? What are the benefits of owning a payed anti-virus?

just wanna say I'm a kinda newbie to this subject and to this site... I was always just buying the cheapest AV option I have

plat

Level 29
Top Poster
Sep 13, 2018
If one is not a high-risk user, the focus can be more on any performance impacts to the machine.

Defender is virtually impact-free for some, and absolutely not an option for others b/c it's slow--it depends on the task. Many say Defender can stand alone but even though I'm low-risk, I always supplement it with 1 or 2 adjunct software for scripts and zero-days.

You can supplement Defender with free tools like the wonderful Hard_Configurator. (y) I use the Firewall Hardening module--wouldn't go without it. You can use the ConfigureDefender module--many around here seem to use this. No impacts on machine. (y)

If you don't mind an occasional nag to upgrade, you can consider free version of VoodooShield, which is a great supplement to many antivirus, esp. the more bare-bones free ones.