Windows Defender - MAPS

Status
Not open for further replies.

MrExplorer

Level 28
Thread author
Verified
Nov 15, 2012
As i am new to Windows Defender so asking which MAPS setting is good. i am using Advanced Membership.

Windows Defender[/font]]
image.png

McLovin

Level 76
Verified
Honorary Member
Malware Hunter
Apr 17, 2011
It gives detailed information to Microsoft about the malware it finds. It's good to have that enable if you want Microsoft to improve their Malware Database I guess.

MrExplorer

Level 28
Thread author
Verified
Nov 15, 2012
Ok, Thanks. Now Microsoft has made Windows Defender better from the Past time.

McLovin

Level 76
Verified
Honorary Member
Malware Hunter
Apr 17, 2011
MrExplorer said:
Ok, Thanks. Now Microsoft has made Windows Defender better from the Past time.

Not as far as I know. Always thought that it's been there for a while now? could be wrong.

MrExplorer

Level 28
Thread author
Verified
Nov 15, 2012
Windows Defender is making his AV for the users who has only Basic Knowledge. But i find many AV which are easy & Good.
Trend Micro
ESET Smart Seucirty

arsenaloyal

Level 3
Verified
Aug 6, 2012
I don't think its AV for users with basic knowledge,its rather out of the box AV in the system because many people do not renew the subscription of an AV when it expires and let the pc's remain unprotected,in such a case windows defender will automatically enable itself.

with regards to MAPS with the basic membership on it did detect a few more PUP than without it,so its partially like a cloud.

Nikos751

Level 20
Verified
Malware Tester
Feb 1, 2013
arsenaloyal said:
I don't think its AV for users with basic knowledge,its rather out of the box AV in the system because many people do not renew the subscription of an AV when it expires and let the pc's remain unprotected,in such a case windows defender will automatically enable itself.