Video Comodo Firewall 10 Setup

Av Gurus

Level 29
AV-Tester
Verified
Joined
Sep 22, 2014
Messages
1,807
OS
Windows 10
Surely some parameters are blocked by Comodo.

try to set Comodo to learning mode > reboot > let WD APT start normally > recheck
I heard that for WD ATP you need Enterprise E5.
You can't activate without.

Is this true?
Can you guys check your system and see if it is working (services.msc>Windows Defender Advanced Threat Protection Service (Manual)?
 

shmu26

Level 67
Content Creator
Verified
Joined
Jul 3, 2015
Messages
5,653
OS
Windows 10
I am sure everyone over here wanna check and sees what our respected hero @Umbra will bring to us :) via his modifications, tweaks, and rules which has been added to his combos. A screenshot is also needed!
I am not referring to you, but people who are relatively new to Comodo should not go and copy the config of an advanced user. It will just bring the poor user to a state of insanity or worse.
 

ZeroDay

Level 26
Verified
Joined
Aug 17, 2013
Messages
1,544
OS
Linux
Antivirus
Isolation
It would be nice if one of the tester should test a tweaked Eset firewall against a tweaked CF firewall. With CS's settings all unknowns are blocked from even connecting out. I know which software my money would be on.
 

Umbra

Level 85
Content Creator
Verified
Joined
May 16, 2011
Messages
18,425
OS
Windows 10
Antivirus
Default-Deny
I heard that for WD ATP you need Enterprise E5.
You can't activate without.

Is this true?
i heard the same and i also heard it is a subscription paid service.
 
Joined
Mar 9, 2014
Messages
72
I set it up using the following configuration:

Firewall - Custom Ruleset
Auto-Containment - Enabled
HIPS - Safe Mode
Viruscope - Enabled
Website Filtering - Enabled

Advanced View is checked, Silent Mode is unchecked, and the widget is turned off.

On the side, I have Bitdefender Free and Trend Micro Ransom Buster. For the offline scanners, I can't remember all of them, but I have MalwareBytes and eSet Online Scanner.
 
Likes: ZeroDay

Telos

Level 12
Verified
Joined
Jan 29, 2017
Messages
574
I just installed Comodo Firewall (set CS settings) but now I got some errors on Windows Defender Advanced Threat Protection
I have the same setup and experience no WD interference from CF (w/CS settings). Are you certain it is CF? Does WD show in CF's Network Intrusions or Blocked Applications log? Is HIPS truly disabled?
 

Deletedmessiah

Level 21
Verified
Joined
Jan 16, 2017
Messages
1,002
OS
Windows 8.1
ha ha ha absolutely not. CF is a muh, muh better firewall than Eset. Sorry for the Ha ha I wasn't laughing at you just the thought of Eset's firewall being better than CF made me laugh.
Just the "firewall" part, not the overall product. Eset's firewall is said to be advanced. See @Sunshine-boy's comment. Can some advanced user clarify?
 

ZeroDay

Level 26
Verified
Joined
Aug 17, 2013
Messages
1,544
OS
Linux
Antivirus
Isolation
Just the "firewall" part, not the overall product. Eset's firewall is said to be advanced. See @Sunshine-boy's comment. Can some advanced user clarify?
I am an advanced user and I've seen eset's firewall bypassed a lot more than Comodo's. If you go into the settings and dig deep comodo firewall alone is extremely advanced. Just ticking the box 'deny unknown connections by default' Makes it much stronger. Eset has Intrusion detection system, Comodo Has Host Intrusion detection system. Eset's tech may look better on paper but when it comes down to real life protection comodo firewall, just the firewall is much better protection and Eset's firewall. As one of the tester to test both firewalls only tweed to their vest setting. I'd write down my job title and qualifications to prove I'm an 'Advanced user' But I don't feel the need and their would be ertin thing's I wouldn't be able to mention about my job regardless.

Please excuse the typos I'm the king of them. But, as I said ask one of the testers to test both firewalls alone but tweaked to their max settings for protection. The proof is in the puddin'

I'd do it myself but I'm staying at my mom's house to take care of her as she had a mini stroke AKA a TIA on Sunday so I don't have time.
 

ZeroDay

Level 26
Verified
Joined
Aug 17, 2013
Messages
1,544
OS
Linux
Antivirus
Isolation
CS herself admits that Comodo's firewall component is nothing special.
Neither is Eset it's bypassed on pretty much every test I see. But like I say play with the settings and it' a solid firewall and better than Eset's. I like Eset, but it doesn't matter how advanced their firewall technology is and how good it looks on paper you change a few settings in Comodo and it's just much better protection. And I'm talking firewall only of both products. I don't use either and, although I was thinking about trying the new CF I'm either staying with WD, WFC and VS or going back to KIS.
 
Likes: shmu26

Deletedmessiah

Level 21
Verified
Joined
Jan 16, 2017
Messages
1,002
OS
Windows 8.1
I am an advanced user and I've seen eset's firewall bypassed a lot more than Comodo's. If you go into the settings and dig deep comodo firewall alone is extremely advanced. Just ticking the box 'deny unknown connections by default' Makes it much stronger. Eset has Intrusion detection system, Comodo Has Host Intrusion detection system. Eset's tech may look better on paper but when it comes down to real life protection comodo firewall, just the firewall is much better protection and Eset's firewall. As one of the tester to test both firewalls only tweed to their vest setting. I'd write down my job title and qualifications to prove I'm an 'Advanced user' But I don't feel the need and their would be ertin thing's I wouldn't be able to mention about my job regardless.

Please excuse the typos I'm the king of them. But, as I said ask one of the testers to test both firewalls alone but tweaked to their max settings for protection. The proof is in the puddin'

I'd do it myself but I'm staying at my mom's house to take care of her as she had a mini stroke AKA a TIA on Sunday so I don't have time.
But are you sure its not because of Comodo's HIPS and Sandbox combined with Firewall which prevented bypass? Comodo is top notch with all its components but I just wanted to know how good the single Firewall component is. Sorry if the question is noob-ish.
 
Likes: shmu26

ZeroDay

Level 26
Verified
Joined
Aug 17, 2013
Messages
1,544
OS
Linux
Antivirus
Isolation
This is the post I am referring to. See towards the end, where she talks about "urban legend":
A Question for Cruel Sister. Comodo CIS, Why?
How many times have you seen Eset completely bypassed in the hub alone that includes it's firewall. Because I've seen it bypassed lot. Sometimes tech sounds amazing on paper, but in practice it's different. Eset did have advanced firewall tech years ago, but I still don't think the firewall is Eset's best asset.
 
Likes: shmu26

ZeroDay

Level 26
Verified
Joined
Aug 17, 2013
Messages
1,544
OS
Linux
Antivirus
Isolation
But are you sure its not because of Comodo's HIPS and Sandbox combined with Firewall which prevented bypass? Comodo is top notch with all its components but I just wanted to know how good the single Firewall component is. Sorry if the question is noob-ish.
The firewall can be tweaked in multiple ways on CF Like I say just taking a box to automatically dent connection for unknown software, connections etc makes comodo strong. But, with all that said Eset are a much, much more reputable company who can spend a lot of money on R and D. So, with a new version they could easily make their firewall better than Comodo's because when push comes to shove Comodo don't give a [edited] about their users that's evident on their forums.
 

ZeroDay

Level 26
Verified
Joined
Aug 17, 2013
Messages
1,544
OS
Linux
Antivirus
Isolation
3rd party firewalls won't be needed at all, well they already aren't needed, but if MS come out with a better UI that can be switched on by users who wish to tweak the firewall I'm guessing a lot of people would be more than happy with that. I like comodo's products I just do NOT trust the company one bit.
 

Sunshine-boy

Level 26
Verified
Joined
Apr 1, 2017
Messages
1,589
OS
Windows 10
Antivirus
ESET
@Deletedmessiah
You can check yourself also eset using the same firewall for their enterprise products.
IDS and advanced options in ESET Windows home products and ESET Endpoint Security
Comodo Firewall Settings Interface, Firewall Protection | Internet Security v6.2
Eset fireawall=IDS+Bonet preoction+applcaiton modification detection( If selected, the program will monitor applications for changes (updates, infections, other modifications). When a modified application attempts to establish a connection, you will be notified by the Personal firewall).
eset's firewall bypassed
Show us? :notworthy:
 

ZeroDay

Level 26
Verified
Joined
Aug 17, 2013
Messages
1,544
OS
Linux
Antivirus
Isolation
@Deletedmessiah
You can check yourself also eset using the same firewall for their enterprise products.
IDS and advanced options in ESET Windows home products and ESET Endpoint Security
Comodo Firewall Settings Interface, Firewall Protection | Internet Security v6.2
Eset fireawall=IDS+Bonet preoction+applcaiton modification detection( If selected, the program will monitor applications for changes (updates, infections, other modifications). When a modified application attempts to establish a connection, you will be notified by the Personal firewall).

Show us? :notworthy:
Look in the Malware hub and you'll see infected on a LOT of the Eset tests, firewall bypassed and everything else it happens on a regular basis.Just go through the tests in the MalwareHub simple. You'll see lot of Red Infected conclusions with eset in the hub, lot's. I'm not going through the MalwareHub for you and pasting links you can do that yourself.
 

ZeroDay

Level 26
Verified
Joined
Aug 17, 2013
Messages
1,544
OS
Linux
Antivirus
Isolation
I'm off to the gym now my sister is here to sit with my mom whilst she's ill. I'll be back in an hour or so. I really like this conversation and we'll benefit from sharing and exploring. Sorry If I've come across s rude, as I said my mom had a mini stroke Sunday so I'm more than a little tense.
 
Likes: shmu26