'Cyberpunk 2077' runs so terribly on PlayStation 4 and Xbox One that its creator is offering refunds

Tutman

Level 12
Thread author
Verified
Top Poster
Well-known
Apr 17, 2020
  • The hotly anticipated game "Cyberpunk 2077" launched Thursday.
  • Players on the Xbox One and the PlayStation 4 have expressed discontent with the game, encountering bugs, glitches, and poor graphics.
  • CD Projekt Red, the game studio behind "Cyberpunk 2077," is now offering refunds to players on those consoles.
  • "We should have paid more attention to making it play better on PlayStation 4 and Xbox One," CD Projekt Red said Monday.

MacDefender

Level 16
Verified
Top Poster
Oct 13, 2019
I just started playing this over the weekend, and even on a high end gaming PC, I'm seeing the slowest frame rate I've seen in any AAA title, and not very impressive graphics to justify that.

Plus the game is just soooooo buggy. People run around with their heads cut off. If you walk into some people they'll shoot you in the back out of "rage" which instant kills you. And there's all sorts of bugs with the missions that land you in a state where you can't progress anymore, and often times the previous checkpoint has the same bug so you have to revert to a much older save.

I'm gonna put it away for 6 months and let them work on patches. It'll be a good game eventually, but this is basically alpha quality at this point. If they just had one QA engineer play through the game, I think they could've known that it's not ready to release.

fabiobr

Level 12
Verified
Top Poster
Well-known
Mar 28, 2019

Arequire

Level 29
Verified
Top Poster
Content Creator
Feb 10, 2017
Hardly surprising. CDPR reported the game had gone gold on 5 October, then announced a delay 22 days later.
Add in the constant reports of the company forcing their employees to crunch and it was obvious they were rushing to get the game out before Christmas.

CDPR's done some serious damage to their immaculate reputation with this one.