Q&A Dr Web Security Space 11

Joined
Feb 12, 2013
Messages
126
OS
Windows 10
Antivirus
Trend Micro
#1
I have been wanting to give Dr Web Security Space 11 a test drive to see if it is worth keeping.

After installing Dr Web I can not access the Internet at all. I checked all the firewall settings and could not find anything amiss.
I contacted Dr Web and they told me to disable the firewall and that would resolve the issue. So,I re-installed without the firewall and to my surprise I still could not get on MalwareTips (or any other website)

I was going to use a free 3rd party firewall (suggestions welcome)

Unless I can get Dr Web to work properly, it looks like I be choosing another security system (avast, bitdefender, norton, etc...)

How do I get Dr Web to connect to the web???
 
Likes: Sunshine-boy
Joined
Apr 1, 2017
Messages
1,425
OS
Windows 10
Antivirus
ESET
#2
Don't use any firewall with dr.web what version of windows you have?
Their firewall is storng but soemtiems stop all of your internet connections it's a bug!they know they are working on a fix in the new beta.
You need to disable the win firewall when you install the dr.web

reset all internet and firewall settings so everything will be ok again.
I got the same problem before but solved it easily:
netsh advfirewall reset
netsh advfirewall set allprofiles state ON
ipconfig /flushdns
netsh winsock reset catalog
netsh int ip reset c:\resetlog.txt
ipconfig /release
ipconfig /renew
netsh int ipv4 reset
netsh int ipv6 reset
bitsadmin /reset /allusers
use these commands and your connection will back after a restart.
 
Joined
Apr 15, 2013
Messages
336
#4
Dr Web Many false positives and many problems, used only once and I don't want more, greetings.
 

omidomi

Level 61
Trusted
AV-Tester
Joined
Apr 5, 2014
Messages
5,266
OS
Windows 8.1
Antivirus
Kaspersky
#5
Due to my test Dr.Web improved daily and so its not "that worst"
so for this problem I think its come from https scan in spIder Gate :)
so
1-disable windows firewall
2-install dr.web
but personally I do't have this problem... :rolleyes:
 
Joined
Feb 12, 2013
Messages
126
OS
Windows 10
Antivirus
Trend Micro
#6
btw if you wanna change it why not Kasper sky? with Avast you will waste your money :p
I'm done with Kaspersky. It is too heavy on my system and I do not like the new version.
Why do you say that Avast is a waste of money?
And, what would you recommend? And why? (I'm looking for a paid solution)
 
Likes: L S
Joined
Feb 12, 2013
Messages
126
OS
Windows 10
Antivirus
Trend Micro
#7
Due to my test Dr.Web improved daily and so its not "that worst"
so for this problem I think its come from https scan in spIder Gate :)
so
1-disable windows firewall
2-install dr.web
but personally I do't have this problem... :rolleyes:
I did disable windows firewall and that did not help.
Dr Web told me that it would automatically disable windows firewall during the installation process
I checked and turned off "Spider Gate" that did not help
 
Joined
Feb 12, 2013
Messages
126
OS
Windows 10
Antivirus
Trend Micro
#8
Don't use any firewall with dr.web what version of windows you have?
Their firewall is storng but soemtiems stop all of your internet connections it's a bug!they know they are working on a fix in the new beta.
You need to disable the win firewall when you install the dr.web

reset all internet and firewall settings so everything will be ok again.
I got the same problem before but solved it easily:
netsh advfirewall reset
netsh advfirewall set allprofiles state ON
ipconfig /flushdns
netsh winsock reset catalog
netsh int ip reset c:\resetlog.txt
ipconfig /release
ipconfig /renew
netsh int ipv4 reset
netsh int ipv6 reset
bitsadmin /reset /allusers
use these commands and your connection will back after a restart.
I will give these steps a try within the next day or two.
Thanks for the info.
 

HarborFront

Level 38
Content Creator
Joined
Oct 9, 2016
Messages
2,701
#9
Installed it on my tablet and after less than an hour have it removed because it doesn't work nicely with HMPA and AppCheck. I think it's because of the exploit and ransomware features they all are having.

Other problems. After uninstallation of Dr Web I went to clean the registry and realized that many Dr Web remnant entries CANNOT be removed especially those related to 'Doctor Web'. Also, the folders cannot be deleted by normal means. I need to use IObit Unlocker to delete them.

Imagine I used CCleaner, Wise Registry Cleaner, Regscanner, Regcleaner and the default Windows Regedit still cannot remove them

Now, have to wait for RS3 before reformatting the whole drive to start afresh. For sure I'll never use Dr Web again
 
Last edited:
Likes: Sunshine-boy

L S

Level 5
Joined
Jul 16, 2014
Messages
208
OS
Windows 10
Antivirus
Avast
#12
Ok, ....... Suggestions from me :
Avast with Malwarebytes and Comodo Firewall = Great Combo !!! (y)
Try it - You will not regret at all !!! (y)
 
Joined
Mar 25, 2014
Messages
33
#13
Dr. Web blocks random sites and prevents certain elements from web pages (avatars in forums) to load on my PC. The user interface is not intuitive at all. There are all sort of sub-sections, each of them having their settings button that opens a different interface box. I wanted to use it to block porn sites on my PC, but it turns out that it blocks random sites that are SFW and adding them to the whitelist doesn't unblock them. I uninstalled Dr. Web the same day.
 

toto

Level 3
Joined
Oct 15, 2014
Messages
128
OS
Windows 10
Antivirus
Kaspersky
#14
I would recommend you give Norton a try, it is very light on resources and provides great protection.