How many Pull ups/Chin ups can you do?

• Thread starter MalwareBlockerYT
  • Start date
M

MalwareBlockerYT

Thread author
Hi all,

As a teenager I like to go to the gym & exercise. One of my favourite exercises is the Pull Up & my 2nd favourite is the Chin Up! Then the press up, and the list goes on & on...

Now I was wondering if many of you go to the gym & if so how many Pull Ups can you do?

Personal Record:

22 consecutive Pull Ups
20 consecutive Chin Ups

I have been doing them daily for about 9 months now...

Thanks

Malware Blocker

W

Wave

Thread author
If you want to work your triceps and chest then try diamond push ups, just don't over-do it or you can damage your wrist. Start with a few every day, eventually you'll develop muscle and also endurance and will be able to do more, but don't expect to just be able to do 20-30 because they can be pretty difficult when you first start.

I also recommend doing the bench press and free weights but if I had to recommend only one of them then it would definitely be free weights. The only negative about lifting is related to your age, since it can cause height stunts (related to testosterone). Therefore, I'd wait until your at-least 16 years old before you move onto weight lifting.

If you also have a goal to get pretty good abs then you'll need to make sure your fat levels are good for your body so the abs muscles can actually be seen (e.g. 6 pack).

Other exercises are good such as the chest press, leg press, leg extensions. There are also some other pretty good body-weight orientated exercises such as v-sit, sit-ups, crunches, planking.

If you are also focused on improving your stamina: cycling, skipping and running will help.

You can test for cardiovascular endurance through testing yourself against the bleep test and you can view normative data here: Multistage Fitness Test or Bleep Test