oldschool

Level 19
Verified
Joined
Mar 29, 2018
Messages
948
Operating System
Windows 10
Antivirus
Windows Defender
I installed ZAM Beta, unfortunately after each system startup the program throws an error:

View attachment 204664

I have this bug as well, and it appears to coincide with disabling AV startup. I also have the bugs reported by @KevinYu0504, @rockstarrocks and others. Also, Brave Beta update (Chrome update) still being flagged as FP though I have submitted numerous reports. Zemana Alpha! :)
 

ZAM3_PO

From Zemana
Developer
Verified
Joined
Dec 18, 2018
Messages
85
Operating System
Windows 10
Antivirus
Zemana
I installed ZAM Beta, unfortunately after each system startup the program throws an error:

View attachment 204664
Hi @raveed,

Thank you for reporting this. Seems like this issue appeared during our improvements on initialization of the UI.

Glich on the UI Issue which @rockstarrocks reported is also related to these changes. We will revert this and handle in a better way in the next release.

Thank you all for your contributions and happy new year! :)
 

ZAM3_PO

From Zemana
Developer
Verified
Joined
Dec 18, 2018
Messages
85
Operating System
Windows 10
Antivirus
Zemana
@ZAM3_PO If we go to the activation area it shows the whole of the serial number, it should not be like this. Any other person can easily copy the serial. Partial serial number will be better.
Thanks for the feedback @jogs. License information and activation screens are intended to give you detailed information about your license. Nevertheless, we will consider this in our future planning.
 

ZAM3_PO

From Zemana
Developer
Verified
Joined
Dec 18, 2018
Messages
85
Operating System
Windows 10
Antivirus
Zemana
I have this bug as well, and it appears to coincide with disabling AV startup. I also have the bugs reported by @KevinYu0504, @rockstarrocks and others. Also, Brave Beta update (Chrome update) still being flagged as FP though I have submitted numerous reports. Zemana Alpha! :)
Hi @oldschool, thank you very much for your comment. I understand these false positives can be annoying but day by day you will see improvement on the product as while FPs will decrease and detection rate will increase. We appreciate your and all other testers feedback a lot. Thank you once again.
 

plat1098

Level 3
Verified
Joined
Sep 13, 2018
Messages
133
Operating System
Windows 10
Antivirus
Windows Defender
Hi Zemana: happy, happy new year!

Two things: please inform me I was tripping when I clicked on the license expired/renewal link on ZAM interface and Internet Explorer opened. My default browser is set to Firefox (I checked). Second, I go into a game a few minutes later and the Windows notification chimes into the game and informs me my Zemana trial period is expired. Yes, I knew that already. I have a screenshot if necessary. Is this intentional behavior? On the plus side, I can still run this as an on-demand, right--It's useful that way?

PS: Thank you very much for offering a key but I support developers of good software. Now I will wait for the finished product. :emoji_fingers_crossed:

Yah, reinstalled to get a screenie and clicked on the link provided, IE does indeed open. Hmmm. :unsure:

bandicam20181231210456470.gif
 

oldschool

Level 19
Verified
Joined
Mar 29, 2018
Messages
948
Operating System
Windows 10
Antivirus
Windows Defender
Hi Zemana: happy, happy new year!

Two things: please inform me I was tripping when I clicked on the license expired/renewal link on ZAM interface and Internet Explorer opened. My default browser is set to Firefox (I checked). Second, I go into a game a few minutes later and the Windows notification chimes into the game and informs me my Zemana trial period is expired. Yes, I knew that already. I have a screenshot if necessary. Is this intentional behavior? On the plus side, I can still run this as an on-demand, right--It's useful that way?

PS: Thank you very much for offering a key but I support developers of good software. Now I will wait for the finished product. :emoji_fingers_crossed:

Yah, reinstalled to get a screenie and clicked on the link provided, IE does indeed open. Hmmm. :unsure:

Mine opens to default Edge as it should.
 

plat1098

Level 3
Verified
Joined
Sep 13, 2018
Messages
133
Operating System
Windows 10
Antivirus
Windows Defender
Yes, I checked again and reinstalled, and you're right, oldschool, the default browser, here Firefox, does open when your license expired. I clicked the green "upgrade" link and then IE opened. :mad: Almost worth re-installing OSArmor for, to turn it off.

zam.PNG

Anyway, yet another clip showing what I mean. I installed ZAM from scratch and it was the first v. 500, though I think I recall the IE thing occurred in the latest (3rd) version. If I"m wrong there, OK, but didn't recall seeing any changelog posted anywhere. Maybe I just didn't catch it. Either way, IE must not open when you're not prepared, right?

bandicam20190101115956633.gif
 

ticklemefeet

Level 21
Verified
Joined
Jan 31, 2018
Messages
1,009
When I click on renew, my default Edge opens just like it should. I am still waiting for my answer on if ZAM uses a hardware ID for the licensing. Can't be the registry since all changes to it gets wiped on reboot.
 

Umbra

Level 85
Content Creator
Verified
Joined
May 16, 2011
Messages
19,010
Operating System
Windows 10
When I click on renew, my default Edge opens just like it should. I am still waiting for my answer on if ZAM uses a hardware ID for the licensing. Can't be the registry since all changes to it gets wiped on reboot.
Shadow defender isn't the best choice for software testing
 

Umbra

Level 85
Content Creator
Verified
Joined
May 16, 2011
Messages
19,010
Operating System
Windows 10
I also use VMware Player. I used to use Virtual Box. Shadow Defender works fine unless the install requires a reboot. Umbra, have you ever used SD? I would like to hear your reasons why SD is not good for testing software.

Thank you
I use SD since ages, I have it on one of my systems.
I recall I started using it before it even has MBR protection... If you go in SD section, you will find my review of it, not to rub myself, but I'm one of those that make it popular here.

And the reason is exactly what you said, tests can't survive reboots. This is where softs like rollback RX fit best for Q&A/testers like me.

I will remind people, SD is more a security-oriented software compared to its rivals (Deepfreeze, timefreeze, etc...) , especially to safely test suspicious files/exe (aka keygen, cracks, etc...).

Hope I answered your questions.