MP3 or not

Tom172

Level 1
Thread author
Feb 11, 2011
Can you tell the difference between the quality of the audio samples?

Take the test twice and post your results.

http://mp3ornot.com/index.php

Headphones are recommended.

My result:

11286.png

HeffeD

Level 1
Feb 28, 2011
No Headphones.

As a recording engineer, I've done many listening tests with .mp3's. (I hate them)

11601.png

Tom172

Level 1
Thread author
Feb 11, 2011
I was really just guessing. Not sure if I could actually tell the difference. Probably better tests out there, but this is just one that I remembered.

jamescv7

Level 85
Verified
Honorary Member
Mar 15, 2011
For me its like literally same with 320 and 128 kbps.

Well managed to make a 3 test and got a fair percentage.

11363.png

MetalShaun

Level 1
Mar 3, 2011
Decent head phones or speakers will help you out with this. HeffeD I bet you just keep doing it till you got 6 in a row then posted the results :). I know a fair bit about music and I have studied music technology at college and I am finding it quite difficult to distinguish.

EDIT: Id like to add i have probably damaged by hearing by bashing cymbals in it for 8 years.

jamescv7

Level 85
Verified
Honorary Member
Mar 15, 2011
In this case, its difficult to make a guess since a good hearing skills is needed to distinguished the difference.

HeffeD

Level 1
Feb 28, 2011
MetalShaun said:
HeffeD I bet you just keep doing it till you got 6 in a row then posted the results :). I know a fair bit about music and I have studied music technology at college and I am finding it quite difficult to distinguish.

Nope. :) I wasn't even using high-end computer speakers...

Since my ears were the way I made my living for many years, they're fairly well-trained. ;)