Ransomware or Hoax? Concerned.

Ray55

Level 1
Thread author
Oct 30, 2018
Hi,

Just made an account in this forum. I got an email yesterday claiming to be from my own account with my old password!! It says he has all my data and pics etc. It is asking for payment via bitcoin. In case of denial it threatened to send all the info to my contacts.

After recieving this email, I am not able to sleep or focus on other work. I have spent the whole day, whole day, looking for best ransomware protection and prevention.

I am very distrubed. I have changed all my passwords and added 2FA in all. I use Windows 10 with ESET security.

What should I do now? They have my old password - so is it for real or is it just a scam/hoax?

The email reads like this:
Code:
Hello!

I'm a programmer who cracked your email account and device about half year ago.
You entered a password on one of the insecure site you visited, and I catched it.
Your password from ******outlook.in on moment of crack: ****78 (Astrick hash is my/thread poster addition)

Of course you can will change your password, or already made it.
But it doesn't matter, my rat software update it every time.

Please don't try to contact me or find me, it is impossible, since I sent you an email from your email account.

Through your e-mail, I uploaded malicious code to your Operation System.
I saved all of your contacts with friends, colleagues, relatives and a complete history of visits to the Internet resources.
Also I installed a rat software on your device and long tome spying for you.

You are not my only victim, I usually lock devices and ask for a ransom.
But I was struck by the sites of intimate content that you very often visit.

I am in shock of your reach fantasies! Wow! I've never seen anything like this!
I did not even know that SUCH content could be so exciting!

So, when you had fun on intime sites (you know what I mean!)
I made screenshot with using my program from your camera of yours device.