seeking wisdom!

Nox361

Thread author
Verified
Oct 16, 2013
So, I'm really pretty new at this and want to make sure I'm not overdoing things.
I've been playing with all of the above and each one seems to do certain things well, but am I doubling up on anything unnecessarily?
I've always liked and trusted Kaspersky, but Ad-Aware seems good as well. Will they play well together?

Comodo Firewall gets very good write-ups, but is it superior to the one built into Kaspersky?

Any and all opinions, advice, and comments are welcome.

Thanks!

Littlebits

Retired Staff
May 3, 2011
Howdy and welcome to MalwareTips.

If you have already bought KIS 2013 and it still has valid license, I recommend to use all of its features. No need to add Ad-Aware, you only should have one real-time Anti-Virus product installed.

The firewall that comes with Kaspersky is just as good as Comodo when it comes to controlling network activity.

What Comodo has that is different is strong HIPS protection.

Not all users need strong HIPS protection, especially users that know how to safely download files from trusted sources and utilize UAC. Users that keep their software updated and apply current Windows Updates and use secure web browser with security extensions, etc.

Depending on your preferences, you may decide if you really need this extra protection.

For myself, I just use free security products like Avast, Windows Defender, utilize UAC and never get infections. I don't like to mess with products with strong HIPS, it is just too much work and I stay malware-free without them.

Of coarse not all users have good experiences with products with strong HIPS, they tend to conflict with other software and sometimes Windows own processes, are difficult to uninstall, give false alerts or block trusted processes, get corrupted when you upgrade, require constant manual maintenance, etc.

Enjoy!! :D

Nox361

Thread author
Verified
Oct 16, 2013
Littlebits said: