Tutorial Speed up Chrome & Firefox by using a RAM disk

Will you be giving RAMDisk a try?

  • Yes

    Votes: 23 36.5%
  • No

    Votes: 27 42.9%
  • I would if I had the RAM to spare.

    Votes: 13 20.6%

  • Total voters
    63

Evjl's Rain

Level 33
Content Creator
Trusted
AV-Tester
Joined
Apr 18, 2016
Messages
2,289
OS
Windows 8.1
Antivirus
Avast
#41
Thanks!
I might try having a ram drive later. :)
I was just curious, since if I remember correctly, people from different sites and forums have discouraged using a ram disk even for browsers because they said that browsers have already been developed to be intelligent in managing RAM (and disk cache), making RAM disks useless.
yes it might be correct but I still see a significant increase in my browsing speed
according to my test, if I didn't use ram drive, my HDD usage if I opened 20 tabs at the same time was 99% but with ramdrive it was just 10%
because most people are using pagefile/virtual memory and can can see browsing also increases pagefile activity regardless of ram size + HDD cache => high disk usage
I disabled pagefile + have ramdrive => extremely low disk usage :D
I really care about my HDD lifespan as I always saw my friends bringing their laptops to me with dead HDDs (6 times so far)

browsers are smarter and it's good but the advantages of using a ramdrive is always there :D
 

SHvFl

Level 32
Content Creator
Trusted
Joined
Nov 19, 2014
Messages
2,164
OS
Windows 10
Antivirus
Emsisoft
#42
yes it might be correct but I still see a significant increase in my browsing speed
according to my test, if I didn't use ram drive, my HDD usage if I opened 20 tabs at the same time was 99% but with ramdrive it was just 10%
because most people are using pagefile/virtual memory and can can see browsing also increases pagefile activity regardless of ram size + HDD cache => high disk usage
I disabled pagefile + have ramdrive => extremely low disk usage :D
I really care about my HDD lifespan as I always saw my friends bringing their laptops to me with dead HDDs (6 times so far)

browsers are smarter and it's good but the advantages of using a ramdrive is always there :D
It's because of images in cache. Disable images to the whole browser and test. It will have minimal change in speed when using a ramdisk even if you have an hdd.
 
Joined
Mar 17, 2016
Messages
415
OS
Windows 7
Antivirus
Default-Deny
#43
The gain is minimal even on an HDD... but I still use one as SBIE container.
 
Likes: XhenEd

jamescv7

Level 61
Trusted
Joined
Mar 15, 2011
Messages
12,639
OS
Windows 10
Antivirus
Microsoft
#44
I think the concern is not on RAM but you need a tool that likely control the responsiveness against CPU eaters.

CPU usage holds the majority of functions on operation especially in the responsiveness.
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2016
Messages
173
OS
Windows 10
Antivirus
Zemana
#45
I thought Firefox (like Waterfox which I use) has a setting to cache to RAM anyway in the settings. I seem to remember typing about:config as the url and then setting browser.cache.disk.enable to false, and browser.cache.memory.enable to true, and browser.cache.memory.capacity to -1 (to make it dynamic). Its a while since I did it so I could be wrong.
 
Joined
Nov 30, 2016
Messages
207
Antivirus
ESET
#46
hi
i would like to do it with sierra osx ,but i don't know to do it :unsure::unsure: , move firefox and chrome cache

under windows ,i have found a big improvement,just because it's very slow to move the ram cache to the image file , and close windows
 
Likes: XhenEd