- Jan 8, 2011
Similar to all of your Bitwarden Vault data, everything shared through Bitwarden Send is end-to-end encrypted. This means that Bitwarden cannot see the contents of your Send, whether that be a text snippet or a file.
One of the important components of Bitwarden Send feature is built-in automatic deletion. Because the sensitive data will be deleted, users can ensure their information does not linger, or remain in a system over which they have no control. For example, in a typical sharing model, once a piece of information is emailed or messaged, it stays in those systems often forever. Using the Bitwarden end-to-end security model, while the Send link may remain, it will no longer work, and the data attached to that Send will not stick around.
Continue reading using the shared link below to get into the details about:
- Security in Bitwarden Send
- Understanding a Send Link
- Transmitting a Send link
- Send passwords and keys
- Anatomy of a URL
- Anatomy of a Send URL
- Steps of a Send access request
Learn more about the technical details on how Bitwarden Send maintains end-to-end encryption for secure transmissions.