Question What good is Voodoo shield?

Please provide comments and solutions that are helpful to the author of this topic.

cartaphilus

Level 5
Thread author
Mar 17, 2023
Now, this is a loaded question since I've been using VS since 2018 and have been the 3 year lifetime user on multiple of my systems so I know what it does or I kind of do.

The question is: "what good is a voodoo shield to an informed user who " knows better""? Reading the "how I got infected" thread and how robo got infected with a password stealer made me realize that I would have most likely fallen to the same fate. Mainly because "I know better, I did the regular scans and tests and it came out benign so any VS pop up must be a FP" .

I have VS set to aggressive and it basically alerts on every new executable I download and execute. Thus with a feeling of "knowing better" and the fact that an executable passed my main AV and second party scanner like let say HMPro I would have most likely considered a VS alert as "yet another VS popup."

So how could I better configure VS in order to obtain maximum protection without going into " allow complacence?"

simmerskool

Level 31
Verified
Top Poster
Well-known
Apr 16, 2017
Now, this is a loaded question since I've been using VS since 2018 and have been the 3 year lifetime user on multiple of my systems so I know what it does or I kind of do.

The question is: "what good is a voodoo shield to an informed user who " knows better""? Reading the "how I got infected" thread and how robo got infected with a password stealer made me realize that I would have most likely fallen to the same fate. Mainly because "I know better, I did the regular scans and tests and it came out benign so any VS pop up must be a FP" .