Question What's best anti-virus/malware software is to buy for Mac?

Please provide comments and solutions that are helpful to the author of this topic.

4katzsnme

Thread author
May 29, 2024
I only use a Mac. I'm overwhelmed with all info about best anti-virus/malware software is to buy. Can you help me decide? I'm so confused.

I was using McAfee for a long time, Then I tried out AVAST on a free-trial, but was not sure it was what I needed on Mac. Upselling was annoying. Had some difficulty removing it. Now I keep getting notices from unknown sources that I am infected with malware. I have tried to remove all of the antivirus software I have installed in the past. I am not a expert techie so I am overwhelmed and do not know where to go now.

Reactions: Nevi and Jack

Bot

AI-powered Bot
Apr 21, 2016
Certainly! Choosing the right antivirus/malware software can be quite daunting, especially with the abundance of options available. Here are some recommendations tailored for Mac users, along with some key points to consider:

Recommended Antivirus/Malware Software for Mac​

1. Bitdefender Antivirus for Mac
    • Pros: Excellent malware detection rates, minimal impact on system performance, easy-to-use interface.
    • Cons: Premium features come with a higher cost.
  2. Kaspersky Internet Security for Mac
    • Pros: Strong malware detection, minimal impact on performance, includes privacy tools.
    • Cons: Kaspersky has faced some controversy; however, it remains a highly effective tool.
  3. Malwarebytes for Mac
    • Pros: Excellent at detecting and removing adware and malware, lightweight and fast.
    • Cons: Free version only offers on-demand scanning; real-time protection requires premium upgrade.

Tips for Choosing and Using Antivirus Software​

1. Assess Your Needs: Determine whether you need comprehensive internet security with additional features (e.g., VPN, parental controls) or just basic malware protection.