What's the Best Antivirus against Ransomware?

mamamia

Level 3
Thread author
Verified
Feb 27, 2016
Hi.
I am not an expert user, so I want to know beyond Emsisoft, what's the best Antivirus against Ransomware (and its new variants)?.

Last edited:
A

Alkajak

The big ones tend to have pretty good ransomware protection. ESET has the best from my testings. I've had KIS almost miss one, but caught it dynamically and disinfected with a restart. Ransomware has gotten through Norton on a few occasions for me.

Otherwise, the best tool to anti-ransomware is anti-ransomware software. Anti-viruses will keep up with ransomware as long as its users are submitting the files for analysis.

jamescv7

Level 85
Verified
Honorary Member
Mar 15, 2011
ESET and Kaspersky have their so far good and yet matured ransomware protection which they brought comprehensive analysis too. Others are rated to be passive or ineffective where you need a complement tool.

_CyberGhosT_

Level 53
Verified
Honorary Member
Top Poster
Content Creator
Well-known
Aug 2, 2015
Once the MBARW module is incorporated into MBAM premium, that and VooDoo Shield is all I will run, and that's not as far off as some might think.
For now if your brave you can try MBARW on your production system, but still the Dev's advise against it and seeing they are the authors of the software I would head their advise.
Remember it's called "Anti-Virus" and not "Anti-Ransom" for a reason, so do your Homework.
PeAcE

ifacedown

Level 18
Verified
Jan 31, 2014
Once the MBARW module is incorporated into MBAM premium, that and VooDoo Shield is all I will run, and that's not as far off as some might think.
For now if your brave you can try MBARW on your production system, but still the Dev's advise against it and seeing they are the authors of the software I would head their advise.
Remember it's called "Anti-Virus" and not "Anti-Ransom" for a reason, so do your Homework.
PeAcE