Which AV (endpoint)?

Binks

Level 1
Thread author
Verified
May 17, 2017
Hi Guys,

This topic maybe common topic and everybody might have created this before ...

My question, how reliable is test result by ah-test.org? At-comparative.com? Vb100? Review? I'm midst deciding which cloud protection I should choose ... I personally really likes Protection by Bitdefender Gravityzone - Cloud protection due to friendly user interface both cloud console and agent.

Reactions: AtlBo and shmu26

Binks

Level 1
Thread author
Verified
May 17, 2017
I can't download any sample yet. Newbie here. I was told need to hit 100 quality post first then only allowed to download for testing.

What do u use @frogboy AV?

Reactions: AtlBo and shmu26

shmu26

Level 85
Verified
Honorary Member
Top Poster
Content Creator
Well-known
Jul 3, 2015
You don't need to test them yourself. You can read the results of the MT testers.
These testers are not biased by money or politics. But on the other hand, they test with the newest, freshest, zero-day samples. That is both good and bad.

It depends what kind of threats are most relevant to you. If you are mainly worried about software downloads, then something like Bitdefender is good, or whatever the big name testers recommend.
But if you are mainly worried about email attachments and links, which are typically zero-day, then you need something with a stronger behavior blocker.
Kaspersky is consistently strong in MT testing, but there are other choices, too.

AtlBo

Level 28
Verified
Top Poster
Content Creator
Well-known
Dec 29, 2014
I use Qihoo 360 Total Security or Avast. I have 3 PCs running 360 and the other two Avast. They are both good with Avast getting the vote for hardenability (more pop ups) while 360 gets the nod for system monitoring and innovation (some FPs) on that level.