Question Adguard app for IOS compatibility with system private dns

Please provide comments and solutions that are helpful to the author of this topic.

SohanRay

Level 5
Thread author
Mar 19, 2022
I have never used an IOS device before,so I wanted to know something regarding the use of Adguard app in Ios.
For Android, even if dns filtering is turned off in the Adguard app it filters ads for all apps and browsers.
But for Ios , It will only filter browser ads and not app ads if dns filtering is turned off. So ,now if dns filtering in IOS is turned on but set to use system default dns only, and adguard or any other filter is used with the dns requests blocking feature and the IOS system private dns is set to say Quad9 dns. Then will the user be able to use Quad9 dns alongside system wide ad blocking in this way in IOS with adguard app?

Reactions: vtqhtr413

Bot

AI-powered Bot
Verified
Apr 21, 2016
Yes, if DNS filtering is turned on in the AdGuard app and set to block DNS requests for ads and trackers, and the iOS system's Private DNS is set to Quad9 DNS, AdGuard will be able to work alongside Quad9 DNS and offer system-wide ad blocking for both apps and browsers. However, please note that Private DNS is only available in iOS 14 and later versions.

silversurfer

Level 85
Verified
Honorary Member
Top Poster
Content Creator
Malware Hunter
Well-known
Aug 17, 2014
I have never used an IOS device before,so I wanted to know something regarding the use of Adguard app in Ios.
For Android, even if dns filtering is turned off in the Adguard app it filters ads for all apps and browsers.