Advice Request Best AV for Inexperienced people

Please provide comments and solutions that are helpful to the author of this topic.

Zerion

Level 4
Thread author
Verified
Well-known
Mar 2, 2016
Hello!
I am about to help some older couple with installing their PC, even tho they’re still above average users they don’t like lots of popups along with user required actions. ( And no, they want something else than windows defender ) also the PC is not the best one performance wise, so preferably something rather light too.

is there anything particular you guys can recommend me?
// Thanks in advance!

F

ForgottenSeer 97327

When they are inexperienced why do they want something else than Microsoft Defender?

It is like telling the car sales man, hey I am an not an experienced driver and I want a safe car, but a Volvo is not an option. What can you recommend?

Light and easy to use: Panda Free and Bitdefender Free

Free and easy to use with good results in AV-Test and AV-Comparatives: Avast Free, Avira Free

Andrezj

Level 6
Nov 21, 2022
Hello!
I am about to help some older couple with installing their PC, even tho they’re still above average users they don’t like lots of popups along with user required actions. ( And no, they want something else than windows defender ) also the PC is not the best one performance wise, so preferably something rather light too.

is there anything particular you guys can recommend me?
// Thanks in advance!
bitdefender is the most automated with few setting to be access by user

F

ForgottenSeer 97327

As a lurker for many years, I have got the impression that is nearly useless to post questions like "what is the best AV for old people or youngsters or average users", because the OP gets a myriad of opinions and preferences giving the OP so many options, tthat this information raises more questions than answers :)

Last edited by a moderator:

mlnevese

Level 26
Verified
Top Poster
Well-known
May 3, 2015