greatdivide's Security Configuration! *Warning: Noob Here*

greatdivide

Level 1
Thread author
Verified
Nov 20, 2015
Hello everyone.

Please understand that I am not an expert in this area. I am also not an avid downloader and I'm the type of guy that downloads things when needed. I do not do any malware/virus testings. I usually go with freewares unless I have to pay premium for a certain feature. I'll try my best to go into details about my project.

I have a small startup that handles client information(outsourcing jobs). So basically, we have Client 1, and we act as his virtual assistant. We also do a lot of content research/article writing. We edit images hence we have Adobe Photoshop CC 2015 and Illustrator CC 2015. We also have Microsoft Office 2013 to install Word and Excel. I have a license for 2016, but I do not like the fact that I cannot customize my installation. And I'm very anal when it comes to installation of softwares as I only want the things that I use to be installed.

My staff aren't very tech savvy and are only working what they're told to. So since they'll be in the vast domain of the internet, and this people won't be able to identify what is malicious or not, I need to safeguard their workstations to avoid simple and complex mistakes. So, I compiled a list of what I believe 'Experts' in this forum are using. Also, as per @Umbra 's recommendation, I plan to stick with my 'finalized' list just so I can master their functions and their behaviors.

Webroot AnywhereSecure - As I've said. I'm not very knowledgeable when it comes to antivirus. I pretty much want to use this since I really like softwares that are being constantly updated by their developers. It has a great UI and has a great feedback from reputable security researchers.