Eset
Fav. Videogame
Legend of Zelda, NES version

OaksLabs

Level 1
Thread author
Mar 28, 2016
Howdy,

I'm Jeremy, aka the guy who runs oakslabs. com. I'm a computer repair technician, and I'm about to graduate with my degree in Computer Science from the University of Wisconsin-Superior.

Ever since I started working in IT in 2009, I've had a passion for IT security. In 2014, I started working on my own malware removal utility (the OaksLabs Removal Tool, aka ORT). I came across MalwareTips because of this thread: OaksLabs Removal Tool. where someone had discovered my utility (and how quickly it is flagged by AV/AM software). For more on ORT, see this thread on Technibble: The ORT Thread (aka Sea Turtle Thread) | Technibble Forums

I see that MalwareTips has a lot of knowledgeable members, and I wanted to reach out to the community a bit. Besides having a healthy suspicion of my utility, some people had less than ideal experiences with it, and I want to publish a high quality product -- so I'd like to get feedback about features you'd like to see added, answer any questions you may have, and hear any feedback you have to offer.

Before I go any further, let me explain why my software and domain set off so many AV/AM products. To deter trivial reverse engineering of ORT, I use UPX to pack the executable -- and this is universally suspicious. I also use a free for commercial use script compiler f2ko. de/en/b2e.php, and malware authors use this compiler too (I care about being kosher with EULAs, and this comes back to bite me a lot). I also host my own downloads (I self host all web/e-mail/FTP services), and between having an improperly configured PTR record and publishing executables on my website, I've been added to several black lists. I'm working to fix this, but fighting malware is my nights and weekend gig, and I don't make a dime off of it -- so it hasn't been a top priority of mine.