Compare Performance Router with best QOS

Joined
Feb 11, 2016
Messages
442
#1
Looking for a router that can handle a lot of activity at once. Downloading, streaming, and surfing the internet all at the same time. Thanks.
 
Joined
Aug 12, 2014
Messages
47
OS
Windows 10
Antivirus
Kaspersky
#2
A few question to get better idea how good the router need to be.

What's your internet speed and roughly how many device are using it, dose the routar need to have WIFI.
 
Likes: ng4ever
Joined
Feb 11, 2016
Messages
442
#3
A few question to get better idea how good the router need to be.

What's your internet speed and roughly how many device are using it, dose the routar need to have WIFI.
50 Mbps download 5 Mbps upload :(

Three all at once at one time. Max up to 6. Yes router needs to have WiFi please. Thanks.
 
Joined
Feb 11, 2016
Messages
442
#4
I want Steam and Origin download speed traffic to go down in speed when someone is streaming a video on YouTube or Movie on Netflix on another computer or device (phone or tablet). Plus have web browsing be the most important traffic. Also if possible make a specific computer or computers the most important on the network with internet speed and latency.
 
Joined
Mar 28, 2017
Messages
255
OS
Windows 10
Antivirus
Avast
#7
Hello,
if you are not afraid of tweaking, you can install an open source firmware on certain router.

For example, "tomato usb", the version of toastman is perfect.
You can deploy it on some asus router.

QoS is consumming CPU, so be carefull, dig a lot on forums to find a model that fit your throughput.

Tomato Toastman's Releases
QOS Tutorial

If you want something more plug and play, I remember a new concept, but I cannot remember the name.
I will post if I find it...
 
Likes: frogboy
Joined
Jun 17, 2017
Messages
103
#10
IMHO QoS is usually not needed. In fact even in the enterprise when QoS is enabled for VOIP and Video I think at most I have seen the interface peak @ about 3.5Mbps

Also keep in mind QoS is *only* on egress traffic on all devices so if you have switches they will also need to apply the QoS flags to the packets as they leave the interface on those devices too ;)

Let's say you are using DSCP efs QoS flag so the traffic would look like this:

packets (QoS from router)->switch (re-apply QoS)->endpoint
 
Likes: Warrior