Update SecureAPlus APEX Deep Learning beta (Registration is open)

Homepage
https://www.secureaplus.com/beta/
Bundled with PUP
None
Joined
Dec 19, 2012
Messages
602
#21
Machine was rebooted twice ,one fresh bootup and it was still there ,actually running disk usage and net usage ,but the funny thing is I had it disabled in firewall.
 
Joined
Nov 26, 2016
Messages
393
OS
Windows 10
Antivirus
Avast
#22
It's a bit absurd that ClamAV is using 500MB of RAM. Given how basic and crappy it is, this is just outrageous. I don't care on my main PC with 32GB of RAM, but my hybrid netbook only has 2GB and there, it's a problem. The other laptop with 4GB also isn't happy about it all that much although it has some reserve.
 
Joined
Feb 2, 2016
Messages
632
OS
Windows 10
Antivirus
Sophos
#23
Seems like some of you have too high expectations of early APEX Deep Learning, it's still in BETA and needs more in-depth testers feedback to improve.
 
Joined
Nov 26, 2016
Messages
393
OS
Windows 10
Antivirus
Avast
#24
I really don't understand the design of SecureAPlus. This idiotic meddling with offline antiviruses is idiotic. In 5.0.2 they added option to uninstall ClamAV. But at the end of the day, you're still not running SecureAPlus only because dumb Windows Defender will want to be enabled because it won't be registering any active antivirus because SecureAPlus doesn't register itself as such. If I'd want that, I'd just run Windows Defender then or something. I want bloody SecureAPlus to be one and the only active AV on my system. I'm not sure I'm gonna be testing the beta anymore given their direction and lack of development in that direction.
 
Likes: davisd

sap

From SecureAge
Developer
Joined
Sep 26, 2014
Messages
142
#25
At this point of time, we haven't position APEX as primary offline antivirus engine yet. In the future, we may have an option for the user to allow the user to choose whether they want to use APEX as the primary offline antivirus engine. This will take some time for the development, which we can't deliver in this version yet. Thank you very much for all your input and feedback for the improvement of the programs. We will try to accommodate all the positive input as much as possible.
 
Joined
Aug 13, 2012
Messages
127
OS
Windows 10
Antivirus
Microsoft
#26
1. @sap, If ClamAV is disabled, then real-time scan protection is not working? Check for malicious files. There has never been a reaction when unzip and open the folder with viruses. Only when scanning.
2. Points. "Simply right-click any new executable file that you have downloaded and then select Scan “[Insert Name of File]. " Where are they displayed? In beta activity? I don't see them, but I often scan suspicious files.

Sent the files to the lab. You give a little activity points, plus a long process analysis. From this lost interest in further sending.
 

sap

From SecureAge
Developer
Joined
Sep 26, 2014
Messages
142
#27
1. If ClamAV is disabled, and the file can be detected by APEX or it has been in our Universal AV black list, there should be a prompting. There is a possibility that there is another third party engine (e.g. Windows Defender) that detect the file, and auto quarantine the file. In this case, you may not see the prompting, because the file has been quarantined before it can perform the scanning. The other potential reason could be the sanotifer.exe crashed. Can you check whether sanotifier.exe is running in the task manager? If it is crashed, can you send us the crash dump file ("Info & Licenses" -> "Diagnosis" -> "Support", tick on "Log Files" & "Application Crash Dump Files", and send to server)?
2) In the SecureAPlus portal, under "Submit Feedback and Earn Points" there is a tracker for the number of files scanned (Total Unique Files Scanned), which is updated daily. Do note that points for beta testers with the most files scanned are only awarded at the end of the beta; more points are awarded if you submit False Negative/False Positive samples via the portal. For more details regarding the points system, please visit Points System for SecureAPlus APEX Beta Testing – SecureAPlus Support Pages
 
Likes: harlan4096
Joined
Feb 18, 2018
Messages
334
OS
Windows 10
Antivirus
Norton
#29
Is there still an active ofline AV even after uninstalling ClamAV?! Didn't see APEX after removing Clam.
It helps to read the thread before posting questions that become redundant quickly for other users and developers to answer. Literally 3 post's above your's...
At this point of time, we haven't position APEX as primary offline antivirus engine yet. In the future, we may have an option for the user to allow the user to choose whether they want to use APEX as the primary offline antivirus engine. This will take some time for the development, which we can't deliver in this version yet. Thank you very much for all your input and feedback for the improvement of the programs. We will try to accommodate all the positive input as much as possible.
 
Likes: harlan4096
Joined
Jan 25, 2018
Messages
242
OS
Windows 10
Antivirus
F-Secure
#34
The future AV-AM with AI & MulticloudEng, I like so much the ideas of Secure Aplus I have a various VHD file (wvis,w7,w8,w10) to do several test and if I get to like then would I buy it. I just would like you to create a more corporate and mature graphic environment.
I think that the real challenge of protecting for any antivirus talking about is not over a modern updated OS to gain control for infecting on the test, the true challenge is protecting an old OS like the grandfather XP.
 

Similar Threads

Similar Threads