Advice Request Windows Defender V.S. Bitdefender or any other AV?

Please provide comments and solutions that are helpful to the author of this topic.

FireHammer

Level 10
Thread author
Verified
Well-known
Aug 27, 2020
Hey, I am no big techie so bare with me.

I have a question how can Windows Defender be as good as the competition when they not update their definitions as often as them?
Bitdefender Total Security update their threat information once 2-5 hours, and Windows Defender update sometimes not even once in 24 hours.
How can Windows Defender keep up?:)

F

ForgottenSeer 89360

Hey, I am no big techie so bare with me.

I have a question how can Windows Defender be as good as the competition when they not update their definitions as often as them?
Bitdefender Total Security update their threat information once 2-5 hours, and Windows Defender update sometimes not even once in 24 hours.
How can Windows Defender keep up?:)
1605477432635.png

Windows Defender relies mostly on Machine Learning. Microsoft has trained Defender with a large set of malware.
It has found similarities between malware and malware, malware family A and malware family B, etc.
It has extracted whole "bags" of features typical only for malware and not for safe files.
As soon as you download a file, Windows Defender extracts a "a second bag" full of key attributes, such as where it came from, file, size, metadata, is it packed, is it obfuscated...
The two bags then just get compared. The more similar they are, the higher the chance that your file is malware.

There are many techniques attackers can use to bypass this check. In this case Windows Defender will take the file from your machine and send it to what's known as Automated Malware Analyses and Detonation. This system executes the file and monitors how it behaves - does it behave like a safe file, or does it act malicious.