Are you using an 64-bit OS?


  • Total voters
    328
Bundled with PUP
None

roger_m

Level 18
Verified
Joined
Dec 4, 2014
Messages
863
Operating System
Windows 10
Antivirus
Panda
#62
I have been for a few years. I'm not sure how many, as I've got a terrible memory.
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2015
Messages
203
#63
XP, 7 and 10 all 64 bit - it seems I like to skip every other generation

Wiki says XP came out in 2005, but I doubt I adopted it right away, so maybe 8-9 years. Never been a problem running a 64 bit OS for me, and I run games etc which seem the most finicky things.
 

SecretKeeper

Level 3
Verified
Joined
Dec 25, 2015
Messages
112
Operating System
Windows 10
Antivirus
Windows Defender
#64
Both my Laptop and Main Bedroom PC are 64bit. My server, however, is 32bit.
 
Joined
Dec 11, 2015
Messages
34
Operating System
Windows 10
Antivirus
ESET
#65
Well, I use 64bit OS on my PCs that have more than 3 GB of RAM, bacuse using it with less would be slower than the 32 bit version.
I still use 32 bit version on an old Pentium 4 due to some 16 bit programs. (compatibility reasons).
For seeing differences, by the way, you must use also the programs at 64 bit, for example when downloading Firefox, Chrome or VLC you must go to advanced options ad choose the 64bit installer, otherwise your PC will run in 32 bit emulation.
For Chrome, I noticed about a 40% better rendering performance with the 64bit, using the full power of my 8 cores!
Cheers!
 
Likes: Hangtooth

LASER_oneXM

Level 30
Verified
Joined
Feb 4, 2016
Messages
1,912
Operating System
Windows 8.1
Antivirus
Kaspersky
#68
I'm using W7 and W8.1 (64-bit) since about 4-5 years. Until 2011 i was using "XP Pro 32 bit" on all my machines.
In 2011 i wanted to replace my old hardware and buy brand new (gaming-)machnes: at that time only 64-bit systems (with preinstalled Win7 64-bit) were available in stores in Europe.
 

askmark

Level 12
Verified
Joined
Aug 31, 2016
Messages
560
Operating System
Windows 10
Antivirus
#72
Have been using 64bit since Win 7 released. Only issues were initially with print drivers but that was because my printers were not current models. Never had any other problems.
Have kept Office on 32 bit as the addons I use dof not work on 64bit.
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2014
Messages
171
Operating System
Windows 7
Antivirus
ESET
#73
Being very lazy, I usually don't do much research but I am soooooo happy that I did at least a little when it came to switching my several computers over to Windows 7.

64 bit allows us to have 192G of memory? Now I need to find a motherboard that will accept that much.

I have 5 computers and all are 64 bit.
 

carsten ibsen

Level 22
Verified
Joined
Sep 18, 2016
Messages
1,109
Operating System
Windows 10
Antivirus
Bitdefender
#74
I have only been running 64 bit,but i just have had pc for 5-7 years now:)
 

Soulweave

Moderator
Content Creator
MalwareTips Team
Verified
Joined
Jan 14, 2015
Messages
1,365
Operating System
Windows 10
Antivirus
Kaspersky
#75
since the move to Win 7 when it was released, 64bit.
On linux however was using 64 bit when dualbooting XP.
 
W

Wave

Guest
#77
I've been using a 64-bit OS since I got the laptop I'm currently on now. Before that, I had only had 32-bit (always about 1-2GB RAM before this system - now I have 6GB).

Anyway, unless you are on Windows XP and have less than 4GB RAM, then 64-bit would be more beneficial to you anyway since you'd have more usable memory (utilise your hardware better) and you'd be better protected due to the added protection mechanisms for x64 versions of Windows since Windows Vista.
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2016
Messages
768
Operating System
Windows 10
Antivirus
Qihoo 360
#78
yes I am running 64 bits since windows vista. to be hounest I personally have never ever found a 32 bit laptop here in one of the computer stores in my home town......so that makes me kind of condemned :p
 
Joined
Oct 21, 2016
Messages
13
Operating System
Windows 10
Antivirus
Emsisoft
#79
I'm using 64bit Win10 too, and before I was using Win7 64bit. And also my Archlinux is running 64-bit. I think the only OS I've ever used with 32bit was WinXP.
The only problem I have ever had with a 64bit System, was in Linux with my graphics drivers.