Advice Request Emsisoft use a lot of memory?

Please provide comments and solutions that are helpful to the author of this topic.

chetuyet.hp

Level 1
Thread author
Dec 11, 2022
I have been using Eset for about 5 years. Now my copyright has expired. I switched to Emsisoft testing.
During my trial, I found the memory usage of Emsisoft to be higher than that of Eset. However, I have not found Emsisoft to affect the performance of my computer.
Here is the memory usage of Emsisoft
qcqvfWH.png

Here is the memory usage of Eset
ZPODk9P.png

Last edited by a moderator:
Reactions: vtqhtr413

Gandalf_The_Grey

Level 76
Verified
Honorary Member
Top Poster
Content Creator
Well-known
Apr 24, 2016
According to Emsisoft:
Why antivirus uses so much RAM – And why that is actually a good thing!
Lots of computer blogs and magazines give smart advice on how to speed up your computer by reducing the load on your hardware resources. While it is true that having a few gigabytes of free hard disk space is better than no space, the same wisdom usually isn’t true for your RAM (Random Access Memory), your computer’s super-fast short term memory.

chetuyet.hp

Level 1
Thread author
Dec 11, 2022

Andrezj

Level 6
Nov 21, 2022
I have been using Eset for about 5 years. Now my copyright has expired. I switched to Emsisoft testing.
During my trial, I found the memory usage of Emsisoft to be higher than that of Eset. However, I have not found Emsisoft to affect the performance of my computer.
Here is the memory usage of Emsisoft
qcqvfWH.png

Here is the memory usage of Eset
how much ram does your sysatem have?

Andrezj

Level 6
Nov 21, 2022
I have 8Gb.
in this era 8 gb is low amount, can be not enough ram if you have lots of applications open, running virtual machines can use all ram
eset uses a technique to hide the actual ram usage, so do not base your decisions on what you see in task manager
based upon your testing it appears that emsisoft is not negatively affecting system performance