Advice Request Safing Portmaster

Please provide comments and solutions that are helpful to the author of this topic.

Bumblebee Uncle

Level 3
Thread author
Well-known
Mar 15, 2022
Hello wonderful people :)

Has anyone here used Safing portmaster? I absolutely love the concept, their idea and been listening to their podcasts/videos etc!

But, it is extremely complicated for a few things (Can go into detail later about that). But has anyone here used it? What are your thoughts if you have used it long term?

CyberDevil

Level 6
Verified
Well-known
Apr 4, 2021
Portmaster Firewall (Alpha stage) - there is already a thread on the forum about Portmaster. In my opinion, it's still more of an advanced DNS filter than a full-fledged firewall. Also, when I use it, I have no sense of reliability. For example, the other day it got stuck when I switched on a torrent client with lots of seeds.

I have no experience with their VPN alternative. Interesting, but I would like to see some kind of promo for not much money to try it, I don't want to just pay as I already have other options. :)

Bumblebee Uncle

Level 3
Thread author
Well-known
Mar 15, 2022
Portmaster Firewall (Alpha stage) - there is already a thread on the forum about Portmaster. In my opinion, it's still more of an advanced DNS filter than a full-fledged firewall. Also, when I use it, I have no sense of reliability. For example, the other day it got stuck when I switched on a torrent client with lots of seeds.

I have no experience with their VPN alternative. Interesting, but I would like to see some kind of promo for not much money to try it, I don't want to just pay as I already have other options. :)
Thank you for this! Interesting thread. Super tempted to try out portmaster!

markstitovits

Level 2
Sep 13, 2022
When I last used portmaster it was still in alpha, as I can see now it has a stable version now.