Sandboxing in av's question

D

Deleted Member 333v73x

Sandboxie and Comodo are definitely the good examples as they are by far the best IMO. I have no experience with any Baidu programs and Avast and Qihoo, while well known their sandboxes are not that great (I have experience with both).

H

hjlbx

Hi Between the different antivirus programs which one of these provide best sandboxing protection for malware and viruses? Thks
Qihoo sandbox
Comodo sandbox
Avast sandbox
Baidu sandbox
sandboxie
others

There are different types of sandboxes - virtual, policy\software restriction, memory, combos, etc.

I will only cover the two that I know well and just make feature comparison =

COMODO (Sandbox)

• virtual container
  • system resource access policy restriction (default & user-defined)
  • block internet access (firewall alert for any sandboxed application if requests network access)
  • HIPS does not generate alert for any application run inside sandbox or virtual desktop (intended behavior)
  • default sandbox is quite restrictive against malwares
  • can customize sandbox restriction settings
  • can be used as only a software restriction policy sandbox without virtualization
  • can be used to Block all Unrecognized applications from executing (anti-executable)
  • cannot create individual sandboxes with different settings
  • auto-sandboxing of Unrecognized applications
  • have to manually delete sandbox contents
NOTE: VIrtual Desktop is a pseudo-virtual machine (not a true virtual machine and operates differently than the sandbox)

Sandboxie
  • virtual container
  • system resource access policy restriction (default & user-defined)
  • bock internet access
  • default sandbox is insufficient for maximum possible security'; need to create custom sandbox
  • can create individual sandboxes with customized settings
  • can either manually reset or set to auto-delete sandbox contents
  • low system resource usage
Either of the above are very good in my experience.