Shmu26's new security config

Most recent changes
Dec 31, 1969
Operating System
Windows Edition
Pro
Build
stable
System type
64-bit OS
Security Updates
Automatic Updates - All security and feature updates
User Access Control
Always Notify - For App installs, Modify system & User settings
Device Firewall
3rd-party Firewall - Network security provided by a trusted vendor
Device Security
Windows Defender SmartScreen (Windows 10)
User Account
Recent Security Incidents
No malware or privacy issues
Malware Testing
Malware on a secure VM - Full Network and File isolation
Real-time Web & Malware Protection
VoodooShield Pro
Kaspersky Internet Security 2017
HitmanPro.Alert
standard user account
Startup Sentinel
Security Protection settings
Virus and Malware Removal Tools
HitmanPro, Zemana
Browsers and Extensions
Chrome x64 w/appcontainer lockdown

extensions: uBlock Origin, uBlock Origin extra, HTTPS Everywhere, VTchromizer, Bitdefender TrafficLight, Animation Policy
Web Privacy
uBlock Origin
Password Management
lastpass
Default Web Search
F-Secure (google powered)
System Utilities collection
CCleaner, Zipware
Data Backup
Macrium Reflect
Frequency of Data backups
Daily
System Backup
Macrium Reflect Home
Frequency of System backups
Regularly

shmu26

Level 67
Content Creator
Verified
Joined
Jul 3, 2015
Messages
5,663
OS
Windows 10
#9
people told me that if have adguard, don't need uBlock. what do you say?
I used to use uBlock, and I liked it

Adguard filters HTTPS/SSL.
Does Bitdefender AV too has HTTPS/SSL scan?

I think its advisable to use any one's HTTPS/SSL.
bitdefender AV does scan SSL.
Is that going to conflict with Adguard, I mean, too many certificates at once?
 
Last edited by a moderator:

shmu26

Level 67
Content Creator
Verified
Joined
Jul 3, 2015
Messages
5,663
OS
Windows 10
#11
I guess there could be issues.

I keep my AV's HTTPS/SSL disabled & Adguard's enabled.
thanks for the tip, I do have trouble loading certain sites, let's see if it helps.
But on the other hand, if I disable it in bitdefender, then bitdefender won't be able to scan for dangerous urls within HTTPS connection. Does that matter, or not really?
 

shmu26

Level 67
Content Creator
Verified
Joined
Jul 3, 2015
Messages
5,663
OS
Windows 10
#17
I totally redid my config. Different concept.

Real-time Malware Protection: Windows Defender, NoVirusThanks Exe Radar Pro (free beta) in lockdown mode, HitmanPro.Alert, Sandboxie, MCShield
 
Last edited:

shmu26

Level 67
Content Creator
Verified
Joined
Jul 3, 2015
Messages
5,663
OS
Windows 10
#19
Very simple and light.
you hit it on the nail.

changes:
I actually consider myself a low-risk user, so I have honed down my active protection:
VoodooShield pro; HitmanPro.Alert; MCShield
and that's it.
fair enough?
Or should I have a light AV?
 
Last edited by a moderator: